Upcoming Events

No current events.

Login Form

I Galicia International Open

 12-14 October 2012.

World Cup wnner John Walsh (Ireland) completely dominated the inaugual Galicia Open. The Collins, Co. Cork player, who has already won the Dutch Open this season fired another 47 in Sunday's final round. That gave the 1997 Irish Strokepulay and 2002 Irish Matchplay champion a 23 under par total of 139 and a nine shot winning margin. 2002 Irish Strokeplay winner Liam O'Donovan (Bruff) closed with a Sunday 50 to finish second on 1u8 for the 54 holes. Galicia's own Jorge Rodriguez Sarmiento (closest challenger to Walsh after 18 holes) shot a final round 49 to just pip another Irishman Kieran Earls for third slot on the tiebreaker (they were level on 151). Next on 152 were dual World Cup winner Marc LLoret (Catalonia) and reigning European Strokeplay champion Ian Farrelly.

Dutch ace Herma Kleinlugtenbeld was a runaway winner of the ladies event when she returned 53 on Sunday for a 167 aggregate. Ireland supplied the junior and senior champions. Young Shane Murphy finished in style with a 51 for 159, a total matched by John Murphy, who scored 52 in the final round to take over 55 laurels.

Final leaderboard here

John Walsh took a six shot overnight lead into Sunday at Pazo da Touza. A single shot clear of Jorge Rodriguez Sarmiento after a brilliant opening 45, Walsh shot a 47 second 18 on Saturday for a 16 under par total of 92. Ireland's Liam O'Donovan was second on 98 after 36 holes. Another Irishman Kieran Earls was third on 101 while Ian Farrelly scored 102, as did Rodriguez Sarmiento and Juan Carlos Iglesias.

Ireland's David Ahern, who won Friday's Matchplay warm up, was tied 9th on 105.

36 hole scores here
Sunday tee times


First and Second Round Tee times

Some of the top players in Europe have filed entries for the Galicia Open to be played at Pazo da Touza on October 12-14. Perennial top performers in international Opens Alan Hanlon and Ian Farrelly (the reigning European Strokeplay champion) are joined by World Cup winners John Walsh and Marc Lloret. Other leading contenders are Irish pair Frank Dineen and Liam O'Donovan, Norway's Anders Christian Juel and Herma Kleinlugtenbeld (Holland). 

Full list of confirmed entrants


The GPPA has announced details of the Galicia Open which will be played this year at Pazo da Touza.

I Galicia Open Information

I Galicia Open Rules

I Galicia Open Poster