The Glen Club opened in 2001 and soon after it opened it was already online to host major tournaments, the first of which was the Fuji-Xerox USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championship, held July 17-19, 2002. 2002 International diplomacy was awry after the 9/11 attacks in New York and Washington D.C. Therefore, holding a friendly international competition at this time garnered more esteem than it would normally.

First held at the Narashino Country Club in Japan, the American-Japanese matches were held annually in cooperation with the Japanese Student Golf Association and the Golf Coaches Association of America. The matches featured outstanding male and female college players from the United States and Japan and were founded to help promote international goodwill through the game of golf. Former American players included Curtis Strange, Jay Haas, Peter Jacobsen, Brad Faxon, Juli Inkster, David Love III, Steve Stricker, Dottie Pepper, Todd Hamilton, Davis Toms, Ben Curtis, Bob Tway and Scott Verplank.


The Fuji-Xerox USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championship is a team event consisting of 12 collegiate golfers from each country. There are eight men and four women on each team.

The tournament plays three rounds of 18-hole stroke play; there are six matches on the first day and twelve matches each of the final two days. The six matches on Day 1 are four-ball two-a-side aggregate matches in stroke play (total strokes for both players on the team).

The final two days are all individual stroke play matches. Over the three days of competition, each match won is worth two points, matches halved are worth one point per team.

Fuji-Xerox USA vs Japan 2002

The 2002 Team USA members were: Danielle Downey (Auburn), Kelli Kamimura (Washington), Kristy McPherson (South Carolina), Christi Cano (Oklahoma State); Brock Mackenzie (Washington), Clint Colbert (Savannah College of Art & Design), Dustin Bray (North Carolina), Kris Mikkelson (Georgia Tech), Brandt Snedeker (Vanderbilt), Chris Nallen (Arizona), Bryan Clarke (University of Florida West), and Gregg Jones (Clemson).

Brandt Snedeker

Brandt Snedeker

Team USA took an early lead on Wednesday July 17 at The Glen Club. The Americans have won four of six matches and halved a fifth, building a 9-3 lead after the first day of competition. Playing at a par 72, the opening round was highlighted by Bryan Clarke of the University of West Florida with a course record of 68 (-4) on the course designed by year-old Tom Fazio.

The course record was lowered on Day 2, by Brandt Snedeker of Vanderbilt carding a 65. Also lowered on Day 2 was the lead held by the Americans, who led by 6 points after Day 1, but as the game fell the night of the second round held a 4 point lead. Things got even closer on Day 3 as Japan tied the game at 29 with just one game left. The Americans picked up the win when Kristy McPherson of South Carolina wrapped up a nine-stroke win over Chiharu Tsunekawa. Final score: United States 31 – Japan 29.

Georgia Tech’s Kris Mikkelsen continued the trend of setting the course record during the competition. On Day 3, Mikkelsen posted a 10-under par 62, bettering the record set a day earlier by Brandt Snedeker by three strokes.

Mikkelsen and McPherson earned MVP honors by posting low 54-hole totals for the tournament. Mikkelsen (men) shot 204 (-12), while McPherson (women) shot 217 (+1). Team USA’s victory in 2002 brings the series total to USA 21 – Japan 6.

The Fuji Xerox USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championship, which was the longest running international collegiate golf event in the world, continued until 2008. The 33rd and final competition of the Fuji Xerox USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championship was played at the Tokyo Golf Club, where the Americans dominated the event by beating Japan 37-23. The all-time series ended with Team USA scoring 24 wins while Japan won 9 times.

With the Fuji Xerox USA vs Japan Collegiate Golf Championship as a springboard to hosting future tournaments, the Glen Club has been the proud host of many Illinois Section PGA Tournaments, The Illinois Openand Tournaments Korn-Ferry Tour.