The Jamaican ladies recently returned to the island with the Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy they won at the 26th Caribbean Golf Classic, which was held at the Casa de Campo Golf Course in Puerto Rico.

Although this is Jamaica’s first participation in the women’s trophy – the Jodi Munn-Barrow Trophy – it has been around for 10 years.

Munn-Barrow, who is the president of the Jamaica Golf Associationwas on the golf course and achieved the best individual score to lead Jamaica to victory in the women’s section of the competition.

The Jamaican women’s team amassed 47.5 points for the win ahead of Puerto Rico, which earned 47 points for second place in the three-day, 13-nation competition.

Munn-Barrow was very pleased with the team’s performance, “The Jamaica Golf Association is very proud that the Jamaican team became victorious at the 2022 Caribbean Golf Association Classic held in Casa de Campo, Dominican Republic. The ladies won the Jodi Munn-Barrow trophy and we are very proud of our women It was a very small delegation but they all fought valiantly and they came out on top beating Puerto Rico by half a point in the final standings and we hope this is the start of even more victories for our women’s teams.

Other members of the winning women’s team were Michele McCreath, Sonia Stewart-Wittock, Diane Hudson, Leann Chong, Krystal Chung, Suzan White and Deborah Newnham.

There were two other trophies at stake – the Robert Grell Trophy for the men’s team and the George Noon Trophy for the winning country that amassed the most points in the women’s and men’s sections.

Those trophies went to Puerto Rico who scored 120 points to win the Robert Grell Trophy and 167 points to win the George Noon Trophy.

Jamaica came fourth overall with 101.5 points, ahead of the Bahamas with 87 points.

The Jamaican men’s team bagged 54 points for fifth place overall while Trinidad and Tobago finished with 53 points for sixth place.

Members of the Jamaican men’s team were William Knibbs, Dr. Mark Newnham, Robert Chin, Radcliff Knibbs, Carlyle Hudson, Dorrel Allen, Norman Pryce, Richard White, Peter Chin and Bruce Robertson.

the VSaribbean Golf Classic is a team event contested by teams from an unlimited number of each participating member country playing 18 holes every day. Teams are divided into flights (or groups) based on disability and gender. This is a modified stableford competition where points are awarded on a gross basis based on quality of play – par, over or under par or the number of strokes scored on a particular hole.