TICONDEROGA — The Lake Placid golfers won the program’s fifth straight Division VII title on Thursday with the Blue Bomber’s 336 score, six strokes ahead of the next team.

Brady Tremblay led the Lake Placid team in that endeavor, shooting 78 on the day, while Chris Byrne, Grady Draper and Carver Bell shot 85, 86 and 87, respectively, to complete the group of scorers in the winning team.

But it was Peru’s Keegan Smith who finished the day on top for the individual title, shooting 72 to finish six shots better than Tremblay and help the Nighthawks finish second in the team.

Moriah’s Thomas Clarke and Northeastern Clinton’s Chase LeTourneau are currently tied for third with 82 hits apiece, while AuSable Valley’s Grant Weerts sits at 84 hits to complete the top five.

Then things get murkier, with four golfers tied for sixth, two golfers tied for eleventh and three tied for fourteenth, including Tekla Fine-Lease of Willsboro who made the cut during the competition Thursday but will compete in the Division VII Women’s Championships on Friday. .

The Vikings finished in third place with a team score of 357.

The Patriots came in fourth with 373, just ahead of Beekmantown and Boquet Valley who tied for the top five at 374.


Competition for the Boys’ Individual Sectional Championship will begin at 9 a.m.

With last year’s winner, Regan Arnold of Willsboro, now a graduate, Nighthawk’s Smith is poised to claim the individual crown. He finished sixth in last year’s event.

But Tremblay is within reach and will be looking to improve on his fourth-place finish last season.

The Vikings’ Clarke is in the familiar third spot, the same one he finished last June.

The girls’ individual champion will make her return, however, with the Warriors’ Fine-Lease aiming to defend her 95-shot win last season.

Runner-up Jasmyne Allen will also return, hoping to win the title for AuSable Valley this time around.

Section VII Golf Championships

at Ticonderoga Golf Course

Team results

1 Lake Placid, 336; 2, Peru, 342; 3, Moriah, 357; 4, AuSable Valley, 373; T5, Beckmantown, 374; T5, Boquet Valley, 374; 7, northeast of Clinton, 384; 8, Saranac, 398; 9 Plattsburgh High, 430; 10 Saranac Lake, 459; 11, Catholic Seton, 476; T12, Schroon Lake, Inc.; T12, Ticonderoga, Inc; T12, Willsboro, Inc.

Results of day 1 (Cut)

1, Keegan Smith, PCS, 72; 2, Brady Tremblay, CPL, 78; 3, Thomas Clarke, MCS, 82; T3, Chase Letourneau, NCCS, 82; 5, Grant Weerts, AVCS, 84; T6, Porter Goodman, AVCS, 85; T6, Zach Dubray, BCS, 85; T6, Chris Byrne, LPC, 85; T6, Nicholas Palmer, PCS, 85; 10, Grady Draper, LPCS, 86; T11, Carver Bell, LPCS, 87; T11, Liam Clark, SCP, 87; 13, Dax Lashway, SCS, 88; T14, Oakley Buehler, BVCS, 89; T14, Boden Buehler, BVCS, 89; T14, Tekla Fine-Lease, WCS, 89; T17, Logan Gilbo, MCS, 90; T17, Noé Jewtraw, SLCS, 90; T19, Keegan Seamone, BCS, 91; T19, Nathan Hamel, SCS, 91; T21, Silas Reeder, MCS, 92; T21, Ben Fredette, NCCS, 92; 23, Vance Hickock, MCS, 93; T24, Jack Thomas, AVCS, 95; T24, Nick Winters, MCS, 95.

Day 2 tee times for boys

9 a.m. – Keegan Seamone (Beekmantown), Ben Fredette (Northeastern Clinton), Jack Thomas (AuSable Valley), Nick Winters (Moriah).

9:10 a.m. – Boden Buehler (Boquet Valley), Noah Jewtraw (Saranac Lake), Nathan Hamel (Saranac), Silas Reeder (Moriah).

9:20 am – Carver Bell (Lake Placid), Dax Lashway (Saranac), Oakley Beuhler (Boquet Valley), Vance Hickok (Moriah).

9:30 am – Porter Goodman (AuSable Valley), Grady Draper (Lake Placid), Liam Clark (Peru), Logan Gilbo (Moriah).

9:40 am – Grant Weerts (AuSable Valley), Chris Byrne (Lake Placid), Nicholas Palmer (Peru), Zach Dubray (Beekmantown).

9:50 a.m. – Keegan Smith (Peru), Brady Tremblay (Lake Placid), Thomas Clarke (Moriah), Chase Letourneau (Northeastern Clinton).

Day 2 tee times for girls

10:15 a.m. – Kim Wojcik (Ticonderoga), Madelyn Liberi (Boquet Valley).

10:25 a.m. – Jadyn Snickles (Saranac Lake), Ava O’Brien (Plattsburgh High), Rachel Behm (Boquet Valley).

10:35 a.m. – Steffi Trombley (Plattsburgh High), Emma Viglegi (AuSable Valley), Ella Lobdell (Boquet Valley).

10:45 a.m. – Ailsa Kohler (Boquet Valley), Hanna Bechard (Northeastern Clinton), Leah Hamel (Saranac).

10:55 a.m. – Samara Bosley (Northeastern Clinton), Jasmyne Allen (AuSable Valley), Tekla Fine-Lease (Willsboro).