Columbus, Ga. – Georgia Tech Golfer Christo Lamprecht is among 25 college golfers who have been named to the Watch List for the 2023 Fred Haskins Award Presented by Stifel, given annually to the top college golfer in the nation by the Haskins Foundation in Columbus, Georgia.

The rising junior Yellow Jacket wraps up a stellar amateur summer season by representing his home country of South Africa this weekend at the World Amateur Team Championships in Paris, France. The native of George, South Africa also competed for the 2022 Arnold Palmer Cup-winning international team in Switzerland, where he won three of his four matches. He also finished ninth in the 2022 European Amateur Championship and qualified for match play at the 2022 US Amateur, finishing sixth in the 36-hole stroke play qualifier.

Last spring, Lamprecht was named a third-team All-American by Golfweek magazine and an honorable mention pick by the Golf Coaches Association of America. He also made the All-Atlantic Coast Conference team and finished the spring No. 27 nationally in the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin Index college rankings.

He led the Yellow Jackets to five tournament wins in 2021-22, including a title share at the NCAA Columbus Regional, as well as a second-place finish in the ACC Championship and a 12e-final place in the NCAA championship. He recorded six individual top-10 finishes in 12 events and led the team with an average of 70.22 strokes, third-best in program history.

Four Georgia Tech players have won the Fred Haskins Award – David Duval in 1993, Stewart Cink in 1995, Matt Kuchar in 1998 and Bryce Moulder in 2001. All went on to successful PGA Tour careers.

Celebrating its 53rd year, the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel has been awarded to players who have won 33 major championships and more than 400 professional tournaments around the world. Past recipients include Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw and Justin Thomas. Chris Gotterup (Oklahoma) won the 52nd Haskins Award in 2022. The Fred Haskins Award is the oldest individual college golf award and the only award voted for by players, coaches, golf SIDs and select golf media . Golf Channel and Golfweek are media partners of the Fred Haskins Award.

Preseason Haskins Price Watch List (in alphabetical order):

  • Ludvig Aberg, technician from Texas
  • Sam Bennett, Texas A&M
  • Fred Biondi, Florida
  • Michael Brennan, Wake Forest
  • Ben Carr, South Georgia
  • Ricky Castillo, Florida
  • Adrien Dumont from Chassart, Illinois
  • Mateo Fernandez de Oliveira, Arkansas
  • David Ford, North Carolina
  • Nick Gabrelcik, North Florida
  • Austin Greaser, North Carolina
  • Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech
  • Bryce Lewis, Tennessee
  • Dylan Menante, North Carolina
  • William Mouw, Pepperdine
  • Gordon Sargent, Vanderbilt
  • Cole SherwoodVanderbilt
  • Brian Stark, Oklahoma State
  • Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
  • Caleb Surratt, Tennessee
  • Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
  • Hugo Townsend, Ole Miss
  • Travis Vick, Texas
  • Patrick Welch, Oklahoma
  • Jiri Zuska, Louisville

Alexandre-Tharpe Fund

The Alexander-Tharpe Fund is the fundraising arm of Georgia Tech Athletics, providing scholarships, operations, and facilities support for over 400 Georgia Tech student-athletes. Help develop Georgia Tech’s Daily Champions and help the Yellow Jackets compete for championships at the highest level of college athletics by supporting the Annual Athletic Scholarship Fund, which provides scholarships directly to Georgia Tech student-athletes. To learn more about supporting the Yellow Vests, visit


The Georgia Tech golf team spent 27 years under head coach Bruce Heppler, winning 70 tournaments during his tenure. The Yellow Jackets have won 18 Atlantic Coast Conference championships, made 31 NCAA championship appearances, and been national runners-up four times. Connect with Georgia Tech Golf on social media by liking their Facebook pageor following Twitter (@GTGolf) and instagram. For more information on Golf Tech, visit