Loudon Golf Club hosted the 39th Annual Ayrshire Golf Association Dinner and Presentation Evening last month, with North Ayrshire’s best golfers being recognized for their achievements throughout the year.

Chairman Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun) presided over the dinner with high-profile guests including the chairmen and senior officials of the six West of Scotland Region Associations and Scottish Golf Chairman David Fleming.

There were some recognizable names among the winners including Louise Duncan from West Kilbride who received an award for her historic year.

Louise became the first Ayrshire player in 83 years to win the British Women’s Amateur Championship and would later finish in the top 10 of the Women’s British Open, winning the Smyth Salver as top amateur.

Ayrshire Golf Association Executive Member Liz Keohone accepted the award on Louise’s behalf.

Irvine’s Stuart Easton again represented Scotland at the Home Open in 2021 and at the end of the season turned professional, earning a place on the Alps Tour for the coming season.

He was rewarded for the accolade but with Stuart currently on tour, his award was accepted by teammate Gareth Lamb.

Fellow Irvine golfer Daniel Forbes picked up his award after winning the West of Scotland Strokeplay Championship which took place at Gleddoch.

The popular Ayrshire Handicap League, which is contested by 29 clubs, saw Kilmarnock Barassie and Moorpark play each other in the final, after qualifying matches.

The Stevenston club emerged victorious and received their trophy for it on the night.

The same club narrowly missed local rivals Auchenharvie 88, who won their first-ever county title in the knockout edition of the handicap event.

The scratch league was split into three divisions and in a hotly contested first division, Irvine Golf Club won the title for the first time since 2015.

The Seniors Championship was held in July 2021 at Rowallan Castle Golf Club and Alistair Travers of Irvine Ravenspark won the trophy with a score of 70, courtesy of the better inside half.

Congratulations to the winners of all Herald.