Larry Bush has always had a strong connection to the Palm Beach County Women’s Amateur Championship.

In 1977, Bush, a longtime sportswriter for the Palm Beach Post-Times, asked prominent amateur Lynn Talliaferro why women hadn’t held a tournament in a county known for its golf.

There should be, they thought. And a year later, the PBCWAC held its first championship, won in 1978 by LPGA pro Lynn Connelly.

Upon Talliaferro’s death, PBCWAC officials named the senior division trophy after him. With Bush’s death last year at age 87, the association named its amateur trophy after Bush, a longtime supporter of local golf.

“It’s a fitting honor,” said star amateur golfer Susan Cohn, a resident of Palm Beach Gardens who has won the tournament 15 times in 20 tries.

“Larry was so special in the local golf community and the entire state of Florida. Not only was he a skilled writer, never missing a detail, but he was also such a nice person. He always approached you quietly and asked you how you played.

The 43rd PBCWAC will be held Sunday and Monday on the famed Champion Course at the PGA National Resort. Bush’s daughter, Linda, will be on hand Monday to present the amateur trophy to the winner.

“I was thrilled and honored when I was told the tournament was naming its amateur trophy after Dad,” Linda Bush said. “It was a great pleasure for Dad to have played a part in creating a tournament that features the best female golfers in Palm Beach County. I knew he always looked forward to the tournament every year. What he and Lynn have been able to accomplish is remarkable.

It was like when longtime sportswriter/PGA of America publicist Jim Warters made the suggestion in 1976 that the Palm Beach Kennel Club County Amateur be established for the area’s top male amateurs.

Cohn will return to start another winning streak after losing to her good friend Carolina Hart last year. The tournament will once again be a 36-hole event, although officials are considering returning to a 54-hole event to attract amateur ranking points.

Seven-time champion Taffy Brower said players were thrilled to be able to play at The Champion course, which hosts the PGA Tour’s Honda Classic each year. She won last week’s super senior title at the Florida Senior Women’s Amateur Championship in Naples.

“It’s such a beautiful golf course,” Brower said of The Champ. “Every time you play it, it’s a different course. That’s what makes it so great. Every hole requires your attention.

US Open qualifying: Palm Beach Gardens residents Brett Stegmaier and Nicholas Thompson, Boca Raton fan Dean Greyserman and Stuart’s Greg O’Mahony advanced in a local US Open qualifier last week at Coral Ridge Country Club in Fort Lauderdale.

Stegmaier and Thompson were co-medalists with Zhengkai Bobby Bai of China at 5 and under 67. Greyserman and O’Mahony qualified for a 6-on-2 playoff after 71 seconds.

The US Open 36-hole section qualifier in South Florida will take place on June 6 at Admiral’s Cove in Jupiter. The US Open will take place June 16-19 at the County Club in Brookline, MA.

Chip shots: Jupiter’s Mark Mielke lost the Florida Senior Open last week in a three-way elimination to Gene Fieger. It was Fieger’s third career victory… Terrill Samuel of Boynton Beach won the Florida Women’s Senior Amateur Championship by two strokes over Mary Jane Hiestand of Naples.

Past winners of the Palm Beach County Women’s Amateur Championship

1978 Lynn Connelly

1979Mindy Moore

1980Julie Kintz

1981Ann Ranta

1982Doreen LaDonna

1983 Karen Dunning

1984 Taffy Brower

1985 Taffy Brower

1986 Pam McCloskey

1987 Robin Weiss

1988 No Tournament

1989Mary Hanyak

1990 Taffy Brower

1991 Robin Weiss

1992Debbie Adams

1993 Taffy Brower

1994Robin Weiss

1995Debbie Adams

1996 Robin Weiss

1997 Robin Weiss

1998Barbara Lilley

1999 Taffy Brower

2000 Susan Cohn

2001 Reggie Parker

2002 Mary Hanyak

2003 Susan Cohn

2004 Taffy Brower

2005 Susan Cohn

2006 Taffy Brower

2007 Susan Cohn

2008 Susan Cohn

2009 Susan Cohn

2010 Susan Cohn

2011 Susan Cohn

2012 Susan Cohn

2013 Susan Cohn

2014 Susan Cohn

2015 Susan Cohn

2016 Susan Cohn

2017 Susan Cohn

2018 Susan Cohn

2019 Denise Martorana

2020 No tournament*

Caroline Hart 2021

*COVID precautions.