Photo by Golfweek

In April at RBC Heritage, Si Woo Kim putt on the third hole in the third round, then watched the ball come to rest just on the edge of the cup. Kim watched and waited, maybe too long. The ball finally fell inside, but soon after, a rules official had to approach to break the bad news to Kim: the ball had taken too long to fall and he received a blow. penalty.

What is a Solheim Cup without controversy? During Saturday’s action, Madelene Sagstrom quickly recovered Nelly Korda’s eagle putt, as the American still sat on the ground in disbelief. Moments later, Missy Jones, the on-scene LPGA rules official, informed the players that Sagstrom picked up the ball too early and that because it was going over the rim she was in breach of Rule 13.3b. Korda’s birdie was changed to an eagle, giving Nelly and her partner Ally Ewing a lead of 1 they never gave up.

In October at the CJ Cup in Las Vegas, Seonghyeon Kim missed a 3-foot-4-inch putt that made a full 360-degree turn around the cup before grabbing the lip at the 72sd hole. A golfer is given “a reasonable time to reach the hole plus 10 seconds” under the rules of golf. Kim’s putt ended up falling after taking a total of 26 seconds from when her ball came to rest over the cup and when it fell into it. Kim was assessed a one stroke penalty (in violation of Rule 13.3a) but this resulted in a second rule violation. Since Kim had already signed her card, combined with her inability to include a unknown penalty, Kim was only given a one-stroke penalty, turning his birdie into a par, instead of being disqualified (Exception to Rule 3.3). The penalty cost him $ 17,000 in cash prizes and some FedEx Cup points for non-members.